About Us

Five national organizations – the International Association of Fire Fighters Charitable Foundation Burn Fund, the American Burn Association Burn Prevention Committee, the Federation of Burn Foundations, the International Association of Fire Chiefs, and Safe Kids Worldwide have joined forces to create the National Scald Prevention Campaign.

This Campaign is an innovative national program designed expressly to help fire and life safety educators, burn clinicians, and injury prevention professionals reach adults with life-saving information they need to prevent scalds in and around homes.

Funded by an AFG FP&S grant to the International Association of Fire Fighters Charitable Foundation Burn Fund from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, the scald prevention materials were developed to provide free and accurate tools for educators to use in their communities.

National Scald Burn Campaign Steering Committee


chris-cropChris Bowles, Fire Captain, Vice President Bakersfield Firefighter’s Burn Foundation, has been involved in burn prevention and education for 10 years. He oversees the burn prevention and education for his local burn foundation and is a member of the American Burn Association’s Burn Prevention Committee. 


Ernest-cropErnest J. Grant, RN, MSN, PhD (c), FAAN, has over 30 years of experience caring for burned patients. In efforts to annihilate the devastation caused by burn injuries, he has worked at the local, state, regional and national levels to promote fire and burn safety programs that targets all age groups. He has received multiple awards for his efforts at burn prevention.


mary-cropMary Marchone has over 40 years as an advocate for fire and burn prevention. She is currently a training specialist for the U.S. Fire Administration’s National Fire Academy. She was the 2014 recipient of the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education.


joe-cropJoe Pierce worked more then 36 years for the Dallas Fire Department. For the last 14 years of his career, he was assigned as the Deputy Chief over Fire and Arson Investigation or Fire Prevention Education and Inspection. He served as the Chair of the International Association of Fire Chiefs, Fire and Life Safety Section and Chair of the International Code Council, Fire Code Action Committee. He is now Past Chair of the Fire and Life Safety Section.


Dan 12.18.14Daniel Dillard, Executive Director/CEO of Burn Prevention Network has served in this role for 28 years. He has served as the chairman of the ABA Burn Prevention Committee, and Chairman of Federation of Burn Foundations. Dan serves as the NSPC Project Coordinator.



karla-cropKarla Klas, BSN, RN, CCRP is the Managing Director of Injury Prevention and Community Outreach at the University of Michigan Trauma Burn Center. Her 22-year distinguished career in critical care burn/trauma nursing, injury prevention, research, public education and professional development training has produced over 25 medical journal papers and textbook chapters and several grant awards. She has been appointed to multiple national leadership roles, including Chair of the American Burn Association’s Burn Prevention Committee. Karla’s work has received national and state accolades.

Angela Mickalide, Ph.D., MCHES has more than 30 years’ experience in public health education, injury prevention and health communication. She serves as the Principal Investigator and Program Director for the Emergency Medical Services for Children National Resource Center based at Children’s National Health System. She is serving a four-year term on the CDC National Center for Injury Prevention and Control’s Board of Scientific Counselors.

Official Photo

Sandra Facinoli is the Chief of the Prevention and Information Branch, United States Fire Administration located at the National Emergency Training Center (NETC) in Emmitsburg, MD. Sandy has managed national, state, and community programs related to family and life safety issues for over 30 years.



Tareka Wheeler, Director of U.S. Programs at Safe Kids Worldwide

Jim Brinkley, International Association of Fire Fighters

Tom Flamm, International Association of Fire Fighters